Skip Navigation

Heritage Site

Former Cecil Hotel

Site 35:
Former Cecil Hotel
300 Wyld Street
Date Originally Built:
Present Use:
Evaluation Score:
Priority Two

The Cecil Hotel is the oldest of its kind in North Bay, standing at the corner of Main and Wyld in the middle of the downtown core of the city. It is currently run as a successful restaurant and pub. Construction of the hotel was completed by Robert Wallace and Jack Billington just prior to the turn of the century in 1898.

The Cecil Hotel was not designed with any particular architectural genre in mind. Its design is relatively simple when compared to the Victorian bric-a-brac adorning other local hotels. A two-story balcony once dominated the main entrance on the Main Street side of the hotel. This impressive structure would have provided the hotel guests with a unique view of Lake Nipissing and the approaching railway traffic. In addition, the hotel was situated in a convenient location, particularly for tourists and visitors, as it was within walking distance of both of the downtown train stations.

Although numerous changes have occurred to the building, a tour of the interior reveals many original features, including newel posts in some of the stairwells, hammered tin ceilings, and several hardwood features. The exterior of the building boasts whitewashed keystone details above the windows that stand out against the dark re-painted brick.

The side entrance facing Wyld Street remains functional; a vestige of what was once used as a separate entrance for ladies and their escorts.